The biggest goal was to get a PB at the next Fireman's run. The prize was a trio of Partylight Candles (the ones in jars).....no way was I giving them away!!!! Blokes didn't really get it, but I smashed that PB!!! My times were 23.17, 23.34....so imagine my face when I found out I did it in 21.44!!!! When the fireman (from last month's tales) gave me my card - 36th out of 36 - I gave him a big hug! I also hugged the lady who held the stopwatch and the guy who recorded the time! According to the handicap system that I still don't understand, I'm now coming 1st!!! and most importantly.... I get to keep the candles.
I had a lot of holiday time due, so I took a week off work, had loads planned, almost sucked into doin the New Years Day hill run up Slieu Whallian (900ft of upness), but on day 1 of holidays I went ice skating with some friends, doing really well until the last lap. Crashed & burned. Dislocated arm, chipped shoulder, fractured somwhere between elbos & shoulder. A&E.
Not impressed. Very sorry for myself. There were two hills I wanted to climb, friends I was going to see and trail walks to be done. I was going to do swimming 4 mornings - at least I managed to get 56 laps swum that morning.
I missed one Christmas party, can't get into the dress I'd just finished making either! I did go to my very first panto and two Christmas parties, a disco and get the lurghy big time. Every cough hurt my arm. Did I mention feeling very sorry for myself?
The following week I went to my Monday run group, which kinda forced one friend to go - she couldn't be not turning up when someone with arm in sling still went!! I also went to circuit training, but gave the hill runs a miss.
![]() |
| December 2013 |
| December 2014 |
I'm on track for the January Fireman's run. I won't be able to run it because of my arm, but I've worked out that as long as I can walk it faster that the slowest 3-lapper, then the marshals won't be out any longer because of me.
So I have to beat 47 mins, which I can do, as long as the arm can cope! I won't be in 1st place, but that tee is mine!
See you next year!! Have a good one xxx















































