I started to jog-walk-jog round the lake, which is about 0.8 mile round. I can do the walk in about 15 mins with the walk'n'talk group, so I wasn't really impressed to find that I only knocked off about 3 mins on my first attempt at jwj!
There were some times that were so laughable, I'd almost say you wouldn't read about it, but here I am typing it! I went out on a nice Sunday evening, thinking I had the place to myself as it was dinnertime - well, there was a film crew in one bit, 3 dads teaching kids to ride bikes, 1 dad taking a kid for a run/jog/walk and 4 old guys with their remote control boats out on the lake! You wouldn't believe it, but there wasn't a spare bit of the 0.8 miles to myself! I just did 4 laps walking instead - no way I'm ending up on some tv blooper show!
Another time, I got home from work and thought that about 6pm on a Friday night (when any decent bods should surely be heading to, or already at, a pub or restaurant - but no, I looked out the window & exclaimed "it's not fair! it looks like bloody ants out there!!!" The local athletics club was doing a race round the lake - I even saw a couple trying to have a romantic walk turn around and walk out on the roadway to escape! They weren't just jogging or warming up, there was overtaking and some were doing 3 laps! (I saw the results on their website later on).
And to top it off - yes, March got weirder - I heard about a beginners/learn to walk, jog, run group starting up, and decided that would be perfect. I was hoping to learn stuff like how to breathe properly (without dying of thirst every 2 seconds) and correct footwork cos my feet get sore after a while. Unfortunately for me, it's 6-7 on the prom and I'm working 5-6 on the other end of the prom. I wore my baggy uniform and had my gear on underneath, drove down (laughable, cos I can see the prom from my place) so I could get changed in the car and leave my stuff locked up. I got to the car and as I got closer, all I could see was very fit looking people, not an out-of-shape body in the lot, recognised one who had done a half-marathon last year (and wasn't the instructor) and another who is in our local hockey club.... I did a slow drive-by to see if the "beginners" were hiding round the corner, and they weren't....so I put my foot down & drove on! I wasn't the only one either! I did go and do 3 laps of the lake when I parked up tho, so it wasn't a total waste, just my confidence knocked a bit.
That's about it for March. Onto April!
![]() |
| the lake, with island in middle |

No comments:
Post a Comment