Finishing off the second part of the IronMay competition, just because I'd done 61% of it, might as well do the rest of the swimming and cycling!
2 June -
TT roads not closing till at least 12pm because of fog. Might as well move around (well it's either that, or housework!)
1st lap of lake - walking - 11 mins 16.
I drove to Glen Duff because if they kept the racing going, it was forecast bad weather in the evening and I could be cycling in the rain, at 9.30pm.
3 June -
Extra race day due to opening the roads early yesterday & not all racing got finished. This was a bummer for me because I was working and had to leave my car on the outside of the course, walk 1 mile up the hill for an hour's work, then run down the hill, up and over a walk bridge across the track, get to the car and do my (usually 13 mins) drive to my next job, while the road I was using would be the only road out of town that was open, and within 30 mins! I made it in 24 mins! Which means I ran down the hill, up and over the bridge and to the car in 11 mins!
4 June -
I cycled to Kerrowmoar and back today, there was bad weather due in the afternoon, so only one race was completed. When they said "afternoon", they should have said immediately, I got totally drenched on the way home!
6 June -
Senior Race Day for the TT - on the 6th lap Horst Seiger had a crash just before our marshalling post and we ran to assist. I grabbed the first aid kit and ran about twice as far as have done since joining the running group, without stopping, didn't get out of breath, then joined the stretcher crew to get Horst onto the stretcher, carried across the road to the pavement, seen to by the Paramedic, then carried back across the road, into a field and onto the helicopter. I don't think I'd've been fit enough to do this at the start of the year!
8 June -
1st lap jogged half lengths of the lake, walked the other halves. 2nd lap walking 10 mins 37! 3rd lap I did the exercise machines, walking between.
13 June -
Well I plucked up the courage to join our local athletics club on their lake-lap run with a couple of friends. One ended up not going, but I met my neighbour down there. It's not the 1-lap that I'm used to doing, OH NO! It's a lake lap, then up the hill, down the hill and another lake lap to the finish....or I can choose to do the 3 lap course. It was handicapped, so when I went to register, they asked my handicap & I said "you're looking at it!" I looked at the course and working on my best ever time (which they said was "quite good, actually") I guestimated that it would take me half an hour. I was put in the first group and very proud that I wasn't overtaken until I got to the hill! Lots of people were very supportive as they overtook me, with words of encouragement and I didn't stop once. I did slow to my fast walk, but no stopping. Very proud of myself, I now await my time, which was definitely less than 30 mins, and my friends (old and new) think it was most likely in the vicinity of 20 mins! BTW - it was 1.7 miles!.... 23.37 mins very pleased!
No comments:
Post a Comment