I've been for more walks, signed up for the IronMay competition and actually joined that beginners walk/jog/run group I ran (screaming like a girl) from last month!
I've been using the exercise equipment around the lake sometimes, and increased speed a little - last count was:
1st lap - 11 mins
2nd lap - 10 mins 58 seconds
3rd lap - 10 mins 54 seconds
Also, I've started to race Meatloaf round - Bat out of Hell is 9 mins 50 seconds, so that's my goal - he's still beating me, but I think it's a good goal.
I was not shy in telling people that I didn't go to the beginners group, and lucky I did, because an acquaintance and also my next door neighbour both go to it (and they are different levels) and say they really enjoyed it. Well, yesterday I wore my baggy uniform, put my gear on underneath and got changed in the car again. The hardest part of the whole thing was actually getting out of the car, and I'm glad I did. I walked further and faster than I thought I would, I didn't die, my legs didn't give way and I did get the tips on how to walk better, so my feet survived too! I think it did help that I'd been doing things on my own, and perhaps a month ago I wouldn't have been able to do as much, but I'm definitely going back next week! They do another night where it's all hill work, maybe I'll join that next month. We shall see.
A group of us also went away to a hockey festival and even though I wasn't playing, I wore my pedometer every day (until 6pm) and managed to clock up 9k, 11k, 13k and 17k steps over the 4 days!
Anyway, here's some pics of friends using the park exercise equipment - it's free and there's about 13 stations round the lake - so you have to walk the 0.8mile round to do them all! My personal favourite is the rowing machine, but we didn't get to that one this time.



No comments:
Post a Comment