This blog is a journey about getting fitter, it's not about losing weight, but if that happens, that's great. If you're looking for something else, then keep looking, this ain't for you!

If you'd like to join me, then you're more than welcome to follow & join in the progress, and let me know what & how you're doing.

Only nice comments & discussions welcome, if you don't like something about me, please keep it to yourself and check out other blogs instead.

Cheers

Tuesday, 14 April 2015

March Madness

So what does a gal do after finishing the 6th Fireman's Run, hugging random firemen, earning the tee and getting the Neil Walker Memorial Endeavour Award?

Walking races
Well, in February I signed up for a couple of 5k walking races, which I honestly thought would be like the lake and fireman's runs I'd been doing over the past 9 months.

The first one was on 7 March, I went with a friend, who is a very good race walker, and it wasn't until we were parking up, that she commented that there would be race officials and judges making sure that we weren't cheating! (I was only keen to finish, never mind the style in which I finished!)  Apparently you have to keep your forward knee straight (so just landing on your heel will do that) and no touching other competitors (not even brushing past), which was fine, I wasn't going to be overtaking anyone!

I was expecting there to be loads of people, so I was truly stunned to find out there were only 9 in our race - and only 2 of us were locals!!!  He won the race, I came last.

Here's the starting line-up.  I must be having some kind of mid-life crisis!  BTW - my new claim to fame is that the guy that won that race has been picked to walk for Great Britain!  I can officially say I was beaten by the best!!  (& he's a fab guy who deserves it, he's a good sport and genuinely lovely).
The winner in red, me next to him
The second walking race on 19th, was a little less formal, but it was handicapped, so there was no starting line-up.  There were 4 of us from our Monday night group there, 3 of us set off to start, the 4th was 20 seconds after us.  I was really pleased to not be last for quite a while - it's 6 and a bit laps of the circuit, and I was ahead of the other 2 for the first 3 laps, then got overtaken by one at the start of the 4th lap.  My arm started to ache & I could only use one arm for a while, and got overtaken by the other just before the start of lap 5.  I just couldn't catch her again, but I got a PB and I'm happy with that!  One of the marshals was even cheering me on "Keep going, Collarbone!"  I guess that's my nickname for now!











Waterworks
I carried on doing aquarobics classes, rehab swimming and my own swimming as well.
16 March - for the first time since my accident, I have managed to do the arms-behind-the-back exercises - wasn't easy, wasn't smiling, but I did do them!

Managed to do 4 lengths in 5 minutes, after doing 55 minutes of arm exercises!

Our local pool is doing a swimming fundraiser for Muscular Dystrophy, so I'm going to sign up for that.  It starts on 27 March, you have 2 months to swim 172 lengths!  All I can do is my best!

23 March - Just plain swimming, I did 16 lengths in 30 minutes, needed a break, then managed to finish 22 lengths in 45 minutes.  Not quite the 64 in an hour, but getting there!

Allotment
2.5 hours at the allotment, very happy, but hard to control myself just working on one bed, instead of a little bit of most of the beds, but I got the whole bed dug and ready for the potatoes.  I'll need to sort out the edging, it's a bit had-it.

1.5 hours work got the beans bed all weeded and turned over.  Little steps, but getting quite a lot done, so I'm happy with that.

Walking in general


Went for a 2.5 hour Sunday walk, carried a little backpack (just had my sandwiches and drink in, but I put it on with no help!) and got 11,000 steps covered too.

Easter Festival of Running
I also signed up for this, and convinced a few other friends around the Island to join in some of the races.  Some of them are now trying to convince me to do all 3 races.....we shall see (but the one I haven't signed up for comes with a free hat!)

A friend came with me to rekkie the Peel Hill route - we walked most of it and it took 28 mins 39 seconds (with a few photos taken) and we're not sure we went back down the right way, but surely it'd be quicker going down!  Here's some pics of the view.

Standing on the spot, that's where we have to go

Standing on same spot, that's the town we began at!

28 mins 39 seconds to get to this view!
 The whole route, starts and finishes at the point I'm standing, have to go to the bridge at the end, round the corner, up the hill, turn back (but uphill) and keep going up, through a gate (not allowed to jump the wall), and keep going up to the top where the monuments are.  Down is probably the same in reverse, but we went a different way and took 54 mins 20 in total.  I got my 10,000 steps for the fitbit though!
The tower is right at the end of this hill
the start is the path uphill, then middle part is along the top
The path goes up to the point then turns up the hill

Fitbit
Well, the Fitbit arrived.....and the first thing I get to do is a day of driving and sitting and crafting!  Luckily, the evening is a chance to walk into town and then out of town to do circuit training, and then back home.  I just want to make sure the thing is working! I did do over 10,000 steps though!

Day 2 - chucking it down with rain.  Got drenched doing an 8 min walk - and apparently housework just doesn't cut it for getting to the 10,000 steps.  Didn't even manage 5,000!

Day 3 - sunny!  Went for a 4.6 mile walk, aiming to be able to do the 10k run at Easter, so I'm building up the distance.

16 March - I got 3 "Champ" levels on goals!  Still got to get over 15,000 steps, but maybe tomorrow.....which I did!

Circuit training
I have decided that since I need to build up my muscles again in my left arm, specifically triceps, if I am going to be able to raise it above my head, and the physio exercises seem to have plateaued, and I believe that muscles have a memory....... I'm going to do easy press-ups and dips, because I used to do those, and I didn't used to do physio exercises.  I'll still do the physio ones, of course.

So I managed to do quite a few repetitions of press-ups, which I do on tippytoes against the wall, and also tricep dips, but leaning back and pushing up again, without taking my bum off the seat.

2nd to last session, I thought I was going to die!  Worked my little socks off!

Last session was "The Bleep Test".  Never heard of it.  Probably a good thing.  I figured it was going to be a lot of swearing (you know, like they bleep out swear words on telly).  That's not why it's called that, but I don't think I was wrong either!  We did the 20 metre test.  Starting on one line, you have to get to the 20m line before the bleep.  The spaces between the bleeps gradually gets shorter.  You keep going until you don't get to the line, but you do get 2 chances.  I was just hoping to get to Level 2.  I worked out a system that I thought would work for me, and it did.  I got to Level 3, which means that I did the 20 metres, 16 times!  Now I have a starting point for next year and will be able to see my improvement.

Running in general
16 March - we went and did a rekkie of the lake lap route - the summer version of the Fireman's Runs.  There's a really big hill to run up, and I managed to get to the top, running all the way!  I also ran extra, because we didn't start at the start, so instead of doing 1.73miles, I did 2.66 miles, so I was really pleased with that too.

I had my first attempt on my own to do the lake lap - just 1 lap, and it took 24 mins 42 seconds.  I'll keep going, the first race isn't until after Easter.  Then I went to the allotment for 1.5 hours.  Then my friend wanted to give the Couch25km a go, so we did that together, she was ready to give up after her first session, but by the time we'd had a coffee at the end, she was keen again, so that's fab!

Not actually exercising......
But I'm now on the committee for our local athletics club!  First time I've officially been on a committee!  They had someone take over the newsletter, but never did anything, so I said I wouldn't mind doing that....which was agreed as I'm "the one that's always on facebook!"  and one or two of them know about my blogging.  I'm hoping to be allowed to put it straight onto their webpage, but that might be pushing it.  I've got to work out how to PDF things now (I used to do that at a previous job, not sure if I can do it at home!) cos I like to learn new things all the time.

Thursday, 5 March 2015

Fireman's Run Finale!

Well I actually managed to run the whole way round, which was what I wanted to do.  A few people wanted me to finish on a PB (myself included), but I'd had a sore back since Sunday evening and attached to the Tens machine pretty much all day!  But I was determind to finish and get the tee with the rest of our group!  (anything for a free tee, huh!)

So, for a 6 race competition, we had 4 different routes because of roadworks!!!  Well, they say variety is the spice of life!  I feel for the guy who has to work out the handicaps!

They say a picture paints a thousand words, so lets give it a go!

October 2014
1st race & ran all the way!
November 2014
<no pictures, the weather was horrific, no photographers out tonight!>

December 2014
<no pictures, I wasn't caught on camera>
(but I did fracture, chip and dislocate my shoulder 5 days later)

January 2015
walking 1-armed
 February 2015
It's a bit cold!!!









walking 2-armed










March 2015 - The Final Countdown!
and they're off!
running - 2-armed!
One of my favourite firemen - he gives me the "You've Finished" number!










A friend I invited to do the races with me - and he gets a trophy for finishing in the top 12!!!










My other favourite fireman - he gives me the "You've Finished" cup of coffee!  & another friend I invited to join the races (must remember to give him his tee!)













And here's all us Monday night 1-lapper's finished for the season!  & me with our Monday night 3-lapper!










Tee shirt & prize giving at the pub - we took over the whole place!


















I actually hugged my tee!











The Monday Minions!
I was awarded the Neil Walker Memorial Endeavour Trophy
The winner's circle!










Sunday, 1 March 2015

February - it's all improving!

4 Feb -
Circuit training this week - I managed one-handed press-ups against the wall, one-handed plank (not for very long) and side plank, raising knee to chest!  I was over the moon about all this!  For the first time since injuring my arm, I got home and felt like I'd had a real workout!  It wasn't that I was slacking before, but it meant that I was less focussed on my arm, and more on the exercises - I'm guessing it's because my arm isn't as sore now.

5 Feb -
It's the second-to-last Fireman's run, I'm still not allowed to run it, but will be walking it as fast as I can.
I've just done it in 27.36!!!  Only had to cradle my arm a few times (sadly one of those times was for the camera!) and not sore when I got home.  Will have to wait for tomorrow to see how it is then.



6 Feb -
Arm was fine this morning, went for a walk into town, bit sore on the way back, perfect timing for a coffee!

I went to the pool later and did 45 minutes of the rehab exercises and also managed 6 lengths of the pool - 2 full lengths, 4 were about 3/4 lengths.  I feel like that's an improvement already!
I also managed to make some focaccia bread - 10 minutes kneading, so I'm feeling like today (and February) is a great success!

7 Feb -
Went to the rehab swimming again today, I managed 14x half lengths of the pool (not allowed to do full lengths in this group) and the instructor commented that there was an obvious improvement in my arm movement!  I had bought some of those swim shoe/sock things (whatever you want to call them) and they did give me more confidence, I wasn't worried about possibly slipping, so I was doing more legwork as well.

I also walked into the shops twice today and did over 10,500 steps (according to the pedometer) so by 7pm, I was shattered!  Early night for me, but it's been worth it, feels so good being back in the water!

9 Feb -
Physio appointment did not go as well as I'd hoped.  Only a 10 degree movement improvement and another month off work.  Apparently it's going as well as she'd expected.  I was hoping to have been able to go to work for a few hours a week, but had to settle for new exercises with the resistance bands and being allowed to attempt running at the interval training tonight, but was warned it could ache - my theory was, it aches sometimes anyway, I might as well do the running and know why! 
So today was not a happy day, but I did do my new exercises - not very well, but it was Day 1.

I did manage to do some running, more than I expected and I didn't die before I got to the end.  I went home and rested up with a hot water bottle on my shoulder (just in case), and my shoulder hasn't been too sore.

I also managed to get both hands on my hips for the warm down exercises - first time I've been able to do that - but it is funny, I lean to the right until my hand can get on my hip, then straighten up and then put the right hand on my hip like normal.  At least I'll see an improvement when I don't have to lean to do it!

10 Feb -
Just started noticing that I'm trying to do the morning stretch again.  I hadn't noticed that I wasn't doing before, but now that I've started to try stretching with both arms, it's obvious!  Lost 5lb at weight watchers this week, so that cheered me up!

11 Feb -
We went on a 2-bus ride all the way down south and had a walk through a glen along the towpath and then met friends.  Had a fab afternoon painting plates then went for a walk round The Sound before heading home.  Nice & relaxing, but with a lot of walking in the mix.
 












13 Feb -
I had my first attempt since my accident, for my sub-9min lap of the lake - I'd got it to 9.10mins last time I tried.  I started at above 12 mins, so I'm doing well.

This morning I walked round in 10.51 as a warm-up, then had to do a run-walk-run-walk-run-walk (because my arm ached) and managed it in 9.03!
I was both gutted and impressed at the same time!
 
0.80 mile = 1 lap
So glad I kept up going to the Monday night group (walking only) and the circuit training and walking the last 2 Fireman's Runs.  Just goes to show that it all adds up.  I really expected to be slower again and have to start all over.

14 Feb -
Happy Valentine's Day!
We went for a hill walk today, it was about 8.50 miles and stunning views when we got to the top!  Had a celebratory beer on the way home - the pub has a fireplace, it'd be rude not to make use of it!  Also, I didn't need my sling at all (it was in the bag, just in case).












one handed descent
two handed descent




16 Feb -
Goals of today:
1) Smash the 9min time of the lake-lap.                             DONE!  8.55 mins!
2) Run all of the Monday night interval running.               Mostly.  Better than last Monday.
3) First night of aquarobics - don't embarrass yourself!     DONE!  Didn't fall or slip over!

18 Feb -
Circuits tonight - I managed to do more of the exercises!  I asked the coach if I could try 3 more (he's a physio, so I knew he'd know) and it turns out there are only 4 exercises I can't do!
1) Burpees (but I'd only just been able to do them anyway)
2) Dips (obviously, but I was quite good at those)
3 & 4) 2 variations of press ups, with feet moving in random directions (wasn't ever good at them anyway)
Very pleased with  myself tonight!

 19 Feb -
I drove further today with a friend and even though I've been keeping up the running, walking, lunges and squats..... my thighs killed every time I stood up tonight!

20 Feb -
I went swimming with a friend and managed to do 20 lengths!  Two weeks ago I did 4x 3/4 lengths and 2x full lengths, so that was a big WOW!  I'll soon be back up to the 56!

21 Feb -
I got up early this morning to have a go at the 5k route, which is 4 times round the lake.  I was focussed on distance, not speed, to see how my arm coped with the movement.  The last timed run was 1 July 2014 at 44.51 mins.  I did manage to do the whole 5k non-stop and in a very pleasing 43.09 mins!   My next goals are to do the 1-lap and 3-lap routes non-stop, which include a hill run through the trees.

23 Feb -
Physio visit didn't go well (in my opinion).  There are two tests they do that measure the improvement.  1) Raise arm in front, as high as you can.  2) Raise are out the side, as high as you can.  There was no improvement on either of these two.  There was improvement when assisted with the right arm, and with many other exercises.  Just not the two that matter.  Not happy.

I then went to my running group, in the howling wind, but forgot to take my painkillers, and struggled.  I went to aquarobics, it was fun, we got to play with the noodles and I found out I'm not very good with balancing on them!

25 Feb -
2.5 hours at the allotment - I got 3 gooseberries planted, 3 raspberry canes transplanted and weeded most of the fruit cage (fork needed) and around the rhubarb.  I had 3 coffee breaks in that time, but I think both arms did pretty much equal work.  The physio suggested that I do things that I can do instinctively, as well as her exercises, because I need to build up the muscles.  Housework just isn't instinctive, but gardening is!




















26 Feb -
I was going to go running with a friend, but she has sprained her ankle.  It was our first attempt at road running, and we were going to have a go at the 5k road race route, which includes 3 hills.
I decided to go anyway and really surprised myself ....... I actually managed to do it non-stop!!  In 48.08 mins!

28 Feb -
Busy day today (exercise-wise) - I went to rehab swimming, managed 10 lengths in 15 mins.  If I could keep up that pace, it would be 40 in an hour and 60 in 1.5 hours.  My fastest is up to 75 in 1.5 hours, but I'm happy with 64 in 1.5 hours (because that's a mile).  Then I had to do arm exercises, underwater, working my biceps and triceps.  It was hard work, but fun.  When I was resting, I work my shoulders (it helps to keep moving to stay warm).

Then I drove my friend to our hill-run session.  It's about 20 mins drive and it was chucking it down, but we went anyway.  I haven't been since 6 December, and wasn't sure how I'd do, but you have to re-start somewhere!  Normally we do 8x 1min runs up the hill, and take 2mins to get back down.  Because of the weather, we only did 6.  I did 5, but managed to run 665 metres up hill, so I was happy with that.